79 minutes | Aug 7, 2021

The Economics of Racism: Bootstraps, Black Banks and Redlining.

Progressives continually lose the debate on issues of institutional poverty, structural inequality and systemic racism because they’re loaded with history and meaning that require thinking. It’s a lot easier to say, “Make America Great Again,” “Free Markets,” or “America First.” This episode uncovers the economic side of systemic racism in the United States throughout history and how it led to the uncomfortable reality where Blacks in America have been locked out of every period of wealth accumulation by design. We ask and answer difficult questions that used to only be asked in polite company but have now become off-the-cuff talking points on the right. The show also challenges conventional economic wisdom within the Black community and draws a conclusion that can only be called “inevitable”: Reparations or Revolution. Resources Electronic Frontier Foundation - The FCC and States Must Ban Digital Redlining: eff.org/deeplinks/2021/01/fcc-and-states-must-ban-digital-redlining CNET - The broadband gap's dirty secret: Redlining still exists in digital form: cnet.com/features/the-broadband-gaps-dirty-secret-redlining-still-exists-in-digital-form NDIA - AT&T’s Digital Redlining Of Cleveland: digitalinclusion.org/blog/2017/03/10/atts-digital-redlining-of-cleveland Public Knowledge - It’s 2021. Why is Redlining Still Happening?: publicknowledge.org/blog/its-2021-why-is-redlining-still-happening/ Bloomberg - Amazon Doesn’t Consider the Race of Its Customers. Should It?: bloomberg.com/graphics/2016-amazon-same-day Book Love Mehrsa Baradaran - The Color of Money: Black Banks and the Racial Wealth Gap: bookshop.org/a/23377/9780674237476 Richard Rothstein - The Color of Law: A Forgotten History of How Our Government Segregated America: bookshop.org/a/23377/9781631494536 Adam Jentleson - Kill Switch: The Rise of the Modern Senate and the Crippling of American Democracy: bookshop.org/a/23377/9781631497773 Jelani Cobb - The Essential Kerner Commission Report: bookshop.org/a/23377/9781631498923 Pod Love Pitchfork Economics with Nick Hanauer: pitchforkeconomics.com News Beat - Kerner Report 50 Years Later: America Is Even More ‘Separate & Unequal’: usnewsbeat.com/kerner-report-50-years-later News Beat - Redlining & Climate Change: A Deadly Combination: usnewsbeat.com/redlining-climate-change-a-deadly-combination -- If you like #UNFTR, please leave us a rating and review on Apple Podcasts: unftr.com/rate and follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram at @UNFTRpod. Visit us online at unftr.com. Buy yourself some Unf*cking Coffee at shop.unftr.com. Subscribe to Unf*cking The Republic on Substack at unftr.substack.com to get the essays these episode are framed around sent to your inbox every week. Check out the UNFTR Pod Love playlist on Spotify: spoti.fi/3yzIlUP Visit our bookshop.org page at bookshop.org/shop/UNFTRpod to find the full UNFTR book list. Access the UNFTR Musicless feed by following the instructions at unftr.com/accessibility. Unf*cking the Republic is produced and engineered by Manny Faces Media (mannyfacesmedia.com). Original music is by Tom McGovern (tommcgovern.com). The show is written and hosted by Max and distributed by 99. Podcast art description: Image of the US Congress ripped in the middle revealing white text on a blue background that says, "Unf*cking the Republic."See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.
Play
Like
Play Next
Mark
Played
Share