50 minutes | Dec 11, 2016

The Nonprofit Push for Girls in Engineering

Hear from two nonprofit organizations trying to provide girls with more education in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM). In Part 1 (start @ 00:59), we visit Girlstart, a Texas-based nonprofit that reaches thousands of girls from 4th grade up to junior high with hands-on programs. Executive Director Tamara Hudgins shares what it’s like to develop the program over the past years and into the future. In Part 2 (start @ 27:27), we talk to the founders of Scientific Adventures for Girls, a newer nonprofit around Oakland, California, that targets younger girls in early elementary. Courtenay Carr-Heuer and Tiffany Sprague are using their experience in the both the corporate and nonprofit sectors to start this organization from the ground up. Together these nonprofit directors give stories about why reaching girls in engineering is important and what practical strategies can help others in this same mission. Hear about after-school curricula, recruitment methods, family engagement, key data to collect, fundraising, and other pivotal aspects of their work. Mentioned in this episode: ● Girlstart: http://www.girlstart.org/about-us ● Scientific Adventures for Girls: http://www.scientificadventures.org ● After School Alliance December 2016 report “The impact of afterschool STEM”: http://afterschoolalliance.org/documents/AfterschoolSTEMImpacts2016.pdf ● Girlstart’s October 2016 research report: https://issuu.com/girlstart/docs/strong_promise_girlstart_after_scho_863a7961051441 ● UTeach teacher prep program: https://uteach.utexas.edu/ ● 5E Instructional Model, with which Girlstart aligns: https://bscs.org/bscs-5e-instructional-model ● DeSTEMber program: http://www.destember.org ● Curiosity Hacked makerspace in Oakland: http://www.curiosityhacked.org/ ● TechBridge Girls: http://www.techbridgegirls.org/ ● Previous podcast episode with Linda Kekelis: https://soundcloud.com/piuswong/much-more-than-a-social-network ● Girls Inc: http://www.girlsinc.org/ ● Makerfaire: http://makerfaire.com/ Remember that the podcast will be at the SXSW Conference and Festival in March, 2017! We will be running workshops for educators and professional engineers: https://www.sxsw.com/ and http://sxswedu.com/ Our opening music comes from "School Zone (radio edit)" by The Honorable Sleaze, who’s also on Soundcloud. Our closing music is from "Late for School" by Bleeptor. Both are used under Creative Commons Attribution Licenses: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0 Subscribe and find more podcast information at: http://www.k12engineering.net. The K12 Engineering Education Podcast is a production of Pios Labs: http://www.pioslabs.com
Play
Like
Play Next
Mark
Played
Share