62 minutes | Apr 14, 2021

41. Faithfulness in Turmoil with Rod Dreher

What can we do to thrive in turmoil? Rod Dreher joins us on the podcast today to talk about his book, “Live Not By Lies”, and the courage it takes to stand firm in a post-Christian culture. Rod points out that being courageous includes telling true and good stories, showing hospitality, and not being afraid to look different from those around us as followers of Jesus.    Rod Dreher Show Notes:  Win 4 tickets and airfare to Wilberforce Weekend: https://bit.ly/3m1t0XT  Wilberforce Weekend: https://wilberforceweekend.org/  “Live Not by Lies” by Rod Dreher: https://www.eighthdaybooks.com/product/sku/187850  “The Benedict Option” by Rod Dreher: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-benedict-option-rod-dreher/1124485979?ean=9780735213302  “The Little Way of Ruthie Leming” by Rod Dreher: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-little-way-of-ruthie-leming-rod-dreher/1112412048?ean=9781455521906  The American Conservative: https://www.theamericanconservative.com/  Alliance Defending Freedom: https://adflegal.org/  “When Harry Became Sally” by Ryan T. Anderson: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/when-harry-became-sally-ryan-anderson/1125792437?ean=9781641770491  “1984” by George Orwell: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/1984-george-orwell/1100009100?ean=9780451524935  “Brave New World” by Aldous Huxley: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/brave-new-world-aldous-huxley/1100158848?ean=9780060850524  Books by J.R.R. Tolkien: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/tolkein   “The Screwtape Letters” by C.S. Lewis: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-screwtape-letters-c-s-lewis/1116762579?ean=9780060652937  "The Power of the Powerless" essay by Vaclav Havel: https://hac.bard.edu/amor-mundi/the-power-of-the-powerless-vaclav-havel-2011-12-23  Eighth Day Books: https://www.eighthdaybooks.com/  Books by Flannery O’Connor: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/flannery%20o'connor/_/N-0  Books by Sigrid Undset: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/sigrid%20undset/_/N-0  Erin and her husband, Brett, run Maven which “exists to help the next generation know truth, pursue goodness, and create beauty, all for the cause of Christ.” Check out more about Maven here: https://maventruth.com/   The Strong Women Podcast is a product of the Colson Center which equips Christians to live out their faith with clarity, confidence, and courage in this cultural moment. Through commentaries, podcasts, videos, and more, we help Christians better understand what’s happening in the world, and champion what is true and good wherever God has called them.  Learn more about the Colson Center here: https://www.colsoncenter.org/   Visit our website and sign up for our email list so that you can stay up to date on what we are doing here and also receive our monthly book list: https://www.colsoncenter.org/strong-women  
Play
Like
Play Next
Mark
Played
Share