61 minutes | Mar 24, 2021

38. Why We Need Good Stories with K.B. Hoyle

Why do we love stories and how does it fit into a Christian worldview of who we are as human beings? Should we make reading fiction apart of our lives? Do we need to cultivate our imaginations? Young adult fiction author, K.B. Hoyle, reminds us how stories shape us and good stories make us better.   K.B. Hoyle Show Notes:  K.B. Hoyle’s Website: http://www.kbhoyle.com/  Books by K.B. Hoyle: http://www.kbhoyle.com/books.html Christ and Pop Culture Magazine: https://christandpopculture.com/  “To Kill a Mockingbird” by Harper Lee: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/to-kill-a-mockingbird-harper-lee/1100151011?ean=9780446310789  “The Chronicles of Narnia” by C.S. Lewis: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/chronicles-of-narnia-movie-tie-in-box-set-c-s-lewis/1103130920?ean=9780061992889  “The Hobbit” and “The Lord of the Rings” by J.R.R. Tolkien: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-hobbit-and-the-lord-of-the-rings-j-r-r-tolkien/1000478022?ean=9780547928180  Books by Madeleine L'Engle: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/Madeline%20L%E2%80%99Engle  Books by George MacDonald: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/george%20macdonald/_/N-0  “Mythology” by Edith Hamilton: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/mythology-edith-hamilton/1125490849?ean=9780316438520&aug=1  “Harry Potter” by J.K. Rowling: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/harry-potter-paperback-boxed-set-books-1-7-j-k-rowling/1108948862?ean=9780545162074  “I’m a philosopher. We can’t think our way out of this mess.” by James K.A. Smith: https://www.christiancentury.org/article/how-my-mind-has-changed/i-m-philosopher-we-can-t-think-our-way-out-mess  “The Iliad & The Odyssey” by Homer: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/iliad-the-odyssey-homer/1100816689?ean=9781523645800  “Anna Karenina” by Leo Tolstoy: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/anna-karenina-barnes-noble-classics-series-leo-tolstoy/1105958283?ean=9781593080273  “Pride and Prejudice” by Jane Austen: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/barnes-noble-leatherbound-classics-pride-and-prejudice-jane-austen/1106658784?ean=9781435159631  “A Tale of Two Cities” by Charles Dickens: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/a-tale-of-two-cities-barnes-noble-classics-series-charles-dickens/1106017525  “The Inferno” by Dante Alighieri: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/inferno-dante-alighieri/1100006504?ean=9781593080518  “Piranesi” by Susanna Clarke: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/piranesi-susanna-clarke/1134016335?ean=9781635576757  “WandaVision” TV Series: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt9140560/?ref_=fn_al_tt_3  “Lost and Found: The Tie that Binds (WandaVision to the MCU)” article by K.B. Hoyle: https://christandpopculture.com/lost-and-found-the-tie-the-binds-wandavision-to-the-mcu/    “WandaVision Recap: Therapist Says What? (Episode 8)” article by K.B. Hoyle: https://christandpopculture.com/wandavision-recap-therapist-says-what-episode-8/  “Stranger Things” TV Series: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt4574334/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1  “Captain Marvel” Movie: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt4154664/  Erin and her husband, Brett, run Maven which “exists to help the next generation know truth, pursue goodness, and create beauty, all for the cause of Christ.” Check out more about Maven here: https://maventruth.com/     The Strong Women Podcast is a product of the Colson Center which equips Christians to live out their faith with clarity, confidence, and courage in this cultural moment. Through commentaries, podcasts, videos, and more, we help Christians better understand what’s happening in the world, and champion what is true and good wherever God has called them.  Learn more about the Colson Center here: https://www.colsoncenter.org/   Visit our website and sign up for our email list so that you can stay up to date on what we are doing here and also receive our monthly book list: https://www.colsoncenter.org/strong-women   Do you have questions for Sarah and Erin? You can write to us at strongwomen@colsoncenter.org or join our Facebook group and submit them here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/567802873885320 
Play
Like
Play Next
Mark
Played
Share