74 minutes | Jan 7, 2021

Simon Moore - Natural History Conservator

Love science and conservation? Want to discover new ways to protect our species? Elle Kaye chats with guests who work within the science genre, but whose job titles may need a little unpacking. Strap in for entomology, taxidermy, diaphonization, pet remains, human pathology and all those that work with specimens. In episode 007, Elle speaks with Simon Moore about his incredible wealth of professional experience, the conservation techniques he has helped to develop, the specimens he has worked with over the years and the inside world of a museum conservator. Show Notes, IG Links and Further Reading Simon Moore Website http://www.natural-history-conservation.com/   Simon Moore Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Natural-History-Conservation-119346798095177   Elle Kaye IG www.instagram.com/ellekayetaxidermy   Specimens Pod Socials www.instagram.com/specimenspod www.twitter.com/specimenspod www.linktree.com/specimenspod   NEW Specimens Pod Merchandise https://www.ellekayetaxidermy.co.uk/product-page/specimenspodmerch   Artwork © 2020 Madison Erin Mayfield www.instagram.com/madisonerinmayfield http://madisonerinmayfield.com/   The Natural History Museum https://www.nhm.ac.uk/   UK Guild of Taxidermists https://www.taxidermy.org.uk/   SPNHC – The Society for the Preservation of Natural History Collections https://spnhc.org/   Natural History Sciences Association https://natsca.org/   NATSCA Biological Curators Group https://natsca.org/biology-curators-group-newsletter   Japanese Tissue https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Japanese_tissue   The National Trust https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/   Beatrix Potter Cabinet of Natural History Specimens http://www.natural-history-conservation.com/BeatrixPotter.htm   Grant Museum UCL https://www.ucl.ac.uk/culture/grant-museum-zoology   Peacock Jumping Spider Dancing https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5qkzwG2lLPc   The World of Spiders – W.S. Bristowe https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/14893920-the-world-of-spiders   Brian Hargreaves - Illustrator https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brian_Hargreaves#:~:text=Brian%20Hargreaves%20FRSA%2C%20FRES%20(1935,for%20his%20depictions%20of%20Lepidoptera   Music Giraffes – Harrison Amer via PremiumBeat.com   Edited and Produced by Elle Kaye Concept/Title © 2020 Elle Kaye  
Play
Like
Play Next
Mark
Played
Share