78 minutes | May 14, 2021

Old Timey Crimey #113: The Princes in the Tower (Pt 1) - "And another thing"

Delving into one of history's greatest mysteries--what happened to the young would-be king of England after his uncle sent him and his brother to the tower? Featuring special guest, Hugo-nominated fanzine editor Chris Garcia! Find more of Chris: Dial-a-Crime, Zodiac Speaking, Short Story Short Podcast, Journey Planet, The Drink Tank & Claims Department For more old timey crimey content, check out the Patreon and see what extras you can get for a few bucks a months! Or check out our Amazon Wishlist to buy us a book--making the episode topic YOUR CHOICE! Don't forget to follow the show FB, Insta, or Twitter.  Come check out the merch with the new logo on it! https://www.redbubble.com/people/oldtimeycrimey/shop  Huge thanks to this week's sponsor, an amazing podcast: Hypocritical AF. Music:  Chill Wave by Kevin MacLeod Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3498-chill-wave License: https://filmmusic.io/standard-license Evil Plan by Kevin MacLeod Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3725-evil-plan License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/ Sources: Ben Johnson. Historic UK. https://www.historic-uk.com/HistoryUK/HistoryofEngland/The-Princes-in-the-Tower/ Meilan Solly. Smithsonian Mag. https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/did-richard-iii-order-deaths-his-nephews-they-slept-tower-london-180976930/ Rebecca Starr Brown. https://rebeccastarrbrown.com/2017/03/02/edward-ivs-marriage-to-elizabeth-woodville-in-context/ Historic Royal Palaces. https://www.hrp.org.uk/tower-of-london/history-and-stories/the-princes-in-the-tower/ Matt Lewis. History hit. https://www.historyhit.com/what-led-to-george-duke-of-clarences-execution-by-wine/ “George Northcroft.” https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_Northcroft#Orthodontics English Monarchs. https://www.englishmonarchs.co.uk/plantagenet_12.htm#menu Magalshi. Adventures of a Tudor Nerd. https://adventuresofatudornerd.com/tag/anthony-woodville/ Matthew Lewis. The History Press. https://www.thehistorypress.co.uk/articles/what-if-the-princes-in-the-tower-survived-into-tudor-england/ David Crowther. The History of England. https://thehistoryofengland.co.uk/resource/the-1483-timeline/ Wolverton & District Archaeological and Historical Society. https://www.mkheritage.org.uk/wdahs/docs/edward.html Bruce Heydt. British Heritage. https://britishheritage.com/history/pretender-throne-perkin-warbeck Leanda de Lisle. Tudor Times. https://tudortimes.co.uk/guest-articles/lady-margaret-beaufort-hero-or-villain https://www.historyextra.com/period/medieval/did-richard-iii-really-kill-princes-in-tower-debate-historians/ https://arstechnica.com/gaming/2021/02/historian-bolsters-case-that-richard-iii-murdered-the-princes-in-the-tower/ https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/princes-tower-will-ultimate-cold-case-finally-be-solved-after-more-500-years-10466190.html https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Princes_in_the_Tower https://www.livescience.com/richard-iii-nephew-murders.html Croyland Chronicles Chronicle of London The usurpation of Richard the Third: Dominicus Mancinus ad Angelum Catonem de occupatione Regni Anglie per Ricardum Tercium libellus History Extra Podcast: Princes in the Tower  
Play
Like
Play Next
Mark
Played
Share