60 minutes | Feb 14th 2017

Women and Nonviolent Movements w/ Researcher Marie A. Principe

Play
Like
Play Next
Mark Played

This week on Love (and Revolution) Radio, we interview Marie Principe about her new research on Women and Nonviolent Movements. We explore traditional and non-traditional gender roles, the dynamics of nonviolent struggle, and what it all means for our own movements at this time. Sign up for our weekly email: http://www.riverasun.com/love-and-revolution-radio/ About Our Guest: Marie A. Principe is the Program Associate for the Women in Public Service Project and Global Women's Leadership Initiative at the Woodrow Wilson Center. Having traveled extensively in Asia, Africa and Europe, Marie most recently worked in Iraq and Tunisia. She advised senior management on best business practices through compliance with company policy, international standards, USAID regulations and local Iraqi laws. Since returning stateside, she has pivoted towards examining the ways conflict and political instability affect women specifically, as well as women's unique roles in non-violent civil resistance movements. Marie holds a graduate degree in International Affairs from the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy at Tufts University, and degrees in both English and Political Science from Appalachian State University. Related Links: Women and Nonviolent Movements Study http://www.usip.org/publications/2016/12/29/women-in-nonviolent-movements Why Civil Resistance Works by Erica Chenoweth and Maria J. Stephan https://cup.columbia.edu/book/why-civil-resistance-works/9780231156820 Budrus (Documentary on Palestine) https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Budrus_(film) The Burning Times https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Burning_Times Nonviolence Minute Links: Movements or Campaigns Initiated by Women http://nvdatabase.swarthmore.edu/category/pcs-tags/mainly-or-initiated-women Columbian Women's Sex Strike Against Gang Violence, 2006 http://nvdatabase.swarthmore.edu/content/colombian-women-use-sex-strike-demand-gangster-disarmament-huelga-de-piernas-cruzadas-2006 Iroquois Women Gain Power to Veto Wars 1600 http://nvdatabase.swarthmore.edu/content/iroquois-women-gain-power-veto-wars-1600s Chipko Movement and Treehuggers http://www.riverasun.com/the-original-treehuggers/ Mother of All Strikes, Pawtucket, RI, 1824 http://inthesetimes.com/article/17050/the_mother_of_all_strikes Women's Labor Strikes: http://publici.ucimc.org/shut-down-the-mills-women-the-modern-strike-and-revolution/ Women Textile Workers,Barcelona, Spain 1913 http://nvdatabase.swarthmore.edu/content/womens-textile-strike-barcelona-spain-1913 Costa Rican Women Teachers' Strike, 1919 http://nvdatabase.swarthmore.edu/content/costa-rican-women-teachers-defend-schools-help-bring-down-dictator-1919 Madres de la Plaza de Mayo, Argentina, 1977 http://nvdatabase.swarthmore.edu/content/mothers-plaza-de-mayo-campaign-democracy-and-return-their-disappeared-family-members-1977-19 Icelandic Women's Strike in 1975 http://nvdatabase.swarthmore.edu/content/icelandic-women-strike-economic-and-social-equality-1975 Nigerian Women Occupy Chevron 2002 http://nvdatabase.swarthmore.edu/content/nigerian-women-win-concessions-chevron-through-occupation-2002 Wangari Maathai and the Green Belt Movement in Kenya, 1998-1999 http://nvdatabase.swarthmore.edu/content/green-belt-movement-defends-karura-forest-nairobi-kenya-1998-1999 Women of Liberia's Mass Action for Peace, Liberia 2003 http://nvdatabase.swarthmore.edu/content/liberian-women-act-end-civil-war-2003 Music by: "Love and Revolution" by Diane Patterson and Spirit Radio www.dianepatterson.org About Your Co-hosts: Sherri Mitchell (Penobscot) is an Indigenous rights attorney, writer and activist who melds traditional life-way teachings into spirit-based movements. Follow her at Sherri Mitchell – Wena’gamu’gwasit: https://www.facebook.com/sacredinstructions/timeline Rivera Sun is a novelist and nonviolent mischief-maker. She is the author of The Dandelion Insurrection, Billionaire Buddha, and Steam Drills, Treadmills, and Shooting Stars. She is also the social media coordinator and nonviolence trainer for Campaign Nonviolence and Pace e Bene. Her essays on social justice movements are syndicated on by PeaceVoice, and appear in Truthout and Popular Resistance. http://www.riverasun.com/
Play
Like
Play Next
Mark Played