133 minutes | Oct 31st 2020

Episode 18: Halloween Special

Happy Halloween to all of our listeners! We return to the genre focus with a look at this very special day. We talk about the origins of Halloween, related games and miniatures as well as we dive into how to get inspired during this most wonderful season.

We also have a special guest. Alasdair Stuart of the world famous horror fiction podcast, Psuedopod joins us. Thank you so much Alasdair for sharing your horror journey with us. All of the fantastic links he mentioned are below. You can support Psuedopod and their goal of paying all of their contributors on the Escape Artists Patreon. Download, like and subscribe to Psuedopod wherever you get your podcasts.

Let us know what you think of our new direction or tell us what your Pandemic Halloween celebration will be like by emailing us at Listeningtopaintdry@gmail.com. Find us wherever you get your podcasts, now including Amazon. Follow us on Instagram and Facebook at Listening To Paint Dry and on Twitter @DryPainting.

Here are the links Alasdair mentioned:

Escape Artists https://escapeartists.net/ Patreon https://www.patreon.com/EAPodcasts Stories PseudoPod 111: Radiodemonology https://pseudopod.org/2008/10/10/pseudopod-111-radiodemonology/ Escape Pod 500: The Man Who Lost The Sea https://escapepod.org/2015/09/04/ep500-the-man-who-lost-the-sea/ Full details of The First https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_First_(TV_series) Author Recommendations (horror) Kit Power https://www.gingernutsofhorror.com/kit-power.html Preemee Mohamed https://www.premeemohamed.com/ Penny Jones-Suffer Little Children https://blackshuckbooks.co.uk/shadows-13/ AF Karen Osborne-Architects of Memory http://www.karenosborne.com/ Kameron Hurley https://www.kameronhurley.com/ Namwali Serpell-The Old Drift https://www.penguin.co.uk/books/111/1111103/the-old-drift/9781784703998.html YA Sheena Kamal-Fight Like A Girl https://www.penguinrandomhouse.ca/books/599465/fight-like-a-girl-by-sheena-kamal/9780735265554 Sal and Gabi Break the Universe/Fix the Universe by Gabriel Hernandez https://www.readriordan.com/book/sal-and-gabi-break-the-universe/ The Strangeworlds Travel Agency by LD Lapinski https://www.goodreads.com/en/book/show/46123742-the-strangeworlds-travel-agency A Wizard's Guide to Defensive Baking https://argyllproductions.com/product/a-wizards-guide-to-defensive-baking/ How to Interview Doctor Who, Ozzy Osbourne and Everybody Else http://www.jasonarnopp.com/how-to-interview-doctor-who-ozzy-osbourne-and-everyone-else.html After the War, the RPG I co-created with Jason Pitre https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/285582/After-the-War Genesis of Legend, Jason's company https://genesisoflegend.com/ My press kit https://alasdairstuart.com/press-kit/