75 minutes | Aug 18th 2020

7: The Attention Span Debate

In this episode Erik and Kris give advice on video editing software for educators, using Medium as an educational blogging platform and the tech industry’s increasing interest in education technology. This episode also introduces a new ‘Meta’ segment. The co-hosts talk about their experience podcasting so far and their observations about different podcast formats. They also talk about the assumptions around the human attention span, the revolution of the spoken word, and why it might be ok to have longer recorded lectures. . In addition, Kris and Erik want to formally welcome Chris Hoang to the EdTech Examined team. Chris is the Audio Producer & Sound Engineer and he edited this episode. He is an Entrepreneurship and Innovation Student at the University of Calgary's Haskayne School of Business. Stay tuned for future updates from Chris about audio editing, multimedia, and more. . SHOW NOTES . EdTech Office Hours: Video editing software . Windows Movie Maker 10:  https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/p/movie-maker-10-free/9mvfq4lmz6c9?activetab=pivot:overviewtab  . iMovie:  https://www.apple.com/ca/imovie/  . Davinci Resolve:  https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/davinciresolve/  . Adobe Spark:  https://spark.adobe.com/  . News . Tech Crunch – “EdTech is no longer optional”: https://techcrunch.com/2020/07/20/edtech-is-no-longer-optional-investors-deep-dive-into-the-future-of-the-market/  . WEF – COVID accelerated digital transformation of higher ed: https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2020/07/covid-19-digital-transformation-higher-education/  . Tech Tips . Medium: Tips for creating a publication with your students . Medium.com – Getting started with Medium publications: https://help.medium.com/hc/en-us/articles/115004681607-Create-a-publication  . Medium.com – Layout Tips: https://help.medium.com/hc/en-us/sections/115001431688-Layout  . Medium.com – Managing users: https://help.medium.com/hc/en-us/articles/115004681647  . Medium.com – Drafting or posting to publications: https://help.medium.com/hc/en-us/articles/213904978  .Example class blogs using Medium by Kris Hans:.Economics for Business: https://medium.com/economicsforbusiness .Design Thinking: https://medium.com/designthinkingcourse .Technology for Entrepreneurs: https://medium.com/technologyforentrepreneurs .Strategic Selling: https://medium.com/strategicselling .Dr. Christina Hendricks, UBC, 'You're the Teacher' blog:.http://blogs.ubc.ca/chendricks/ .CONTACT: . Website:  edtechexamined.com Email:  hey@edtechexamined.com Twitter:  @EdTechExamined . TEAM INFORMATION: . Erik Christiansen Co-Founder & Co-Host Website:  erikchristiansen.net Twitter:  @egchristiansen Blog:  tech-bytes.net . Kris Hans Co-Founder & Co-Host Website:  krishans.ca Twitter:  @KrisHans Market Grade:  marketgrade.com . Christopher Hoang Audio Producer & Sound Engineer Website:  chrishoang.ca
Play
Like
Play Next
Mark
Played
Share