35 minutes | Jun 27, 2019

3: Reusables - Any Use? Recorded live from Body & Soul Festival

You are so very welcome to this special episode, recorded live at the Living Lab area, run by Native Events. This was Body & Soul's 10th Anniversary and to celebrate we had all of the chats with Megan Best, who is their Operations Manager. This festival has always led the way in sustainability and this year they have even gone so far as to ban the sale of single-use plastics. This framed the topic of our conversation, so join us as we dig into Single Use V's Reusables with some hard stats and simple solutions!  *Reuzi https://www.reuzi.ie/ Your one-stop sustainable shop * Native Events  https://www.nativeevents.ie/  Sustainable Production Events * Attention Attire  https://attentionattire.ie/  Repurposed tents * Recreate https://recreate.ie/ Reusing Materials * Story of a Spoon (1 min 55 secs): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eg-E1FtjaxY * One Day: How Ireland Cleans Up: https://presspack.rte.ie/2019/01/14/one-day-how-ireland-cleans-up-new/ * Invention of plastic, Leo Baekland: https://www.ericksonliving.com/tribune/articles/2016/12/leo-baekeland-father-plastic-age * 8 million tonnes of plastic enter our oceans every year: https://plasticoceans.org/the-facts/ * How Long do things take to degrade  https://www.thebalancesmb.com/how-long-does-it-take-garbage-to-decompose-2878033 * Water Scarcity as Chennai run out of water https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-48672330 * Plastic Bag Levy Ireland 2002 http://www.irishenvironment.com/iepedia/plastic-bag-levy/ * Ireland to pay 150 Million Euro in fines from missing 2020 emission targets https://assets.gov.ie/10209/8ad1d5cf6a9749f89dcb83dd587ade0d.pdf  * Climate Action Plan 2019 Ireland https://www.gov.ie/en/publication/5350ae-climate-action-plan/ * 500 THOUSAND coffee cups disposed of every day in Ireland https://recyclinglistireland.ie/ * In Ireland we are the largest producer of plastic waste in the European Union with 61kg per person from stats in 2015: https://www.thejournal.ie/ireland-plastic-waste-3786393-Jan2018/ * The zero waste hierarchy: https://www.addisoncountyrecycles.org/recycling/reduce-reuse/zero-waste * The amount of oil used to make a plastic bottle: https://mightynest.com/articles/making-a-plastic-water-bottle * Deep River Rock commit to 10% recycled bottles https://www.newstalk.com/news/deep-riverrock-announces-100-recycled-bottle-862709 * *Disposable coffee cup stats in Ireland: https://www.mywaste.ie/news/22-000-coffee-cups-disposed-of-in-ireland-every-hour/ *  Ellen Mac Arthur Foundation - More plastic in the ocean than fish by 2050 https://www.ellenmacarthurfoundation.org/publications/the-new-plastics-economy-rethinking-the-future-of-plastics * Fishing Line Accounts for 46% of Ocean Litter: https://mercyforanimals.org/straws-arent-the-real-problem-fishing-nets * Single Use tents impacts: https://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/festivals-2019-tent-ban-single-use-plastic-waste-pollution-aif-a8904216.html * Single Use EU Ban of plastic cutlery: https://www.thejournal.ie/single-use-plastics-european-council-4644836-May2019/ * Megan Best Interviewee  https://www.linkedin.com/in/megan-best4861/ * Good News: *Guinness World Record for ocean clean up by 633 divers  https://edition.cnn.com/2019/06/16/us/divers-largest-underwater-cleanup-record-trnd/index.html * Guardian Change language around the environment  https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2019/may/17/why-the-guardian-is-changing-the-language-it-uses-about-the-environment?utm_term=Autofeed&CMP=fb_gu&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook&fbclid=IwAR36zDtmMmtS49PGzerh2HNvALvEMl7pipC_3BjRQNXjysdIPvVO3cvd6CM#Echobox=1558131214 * We can now make biodegradable plastic from cactus juice and edible food packaging made from seaweed:   https://www.explainthatstuff.com/bioplastics.html *
Play
Like
Play Next
Mark
Played
Share