112 minutes | Jun 15th 2020

BSG #42: Shout Out to Publix / Mostly Dead Things / Interview with Erica Boyce

We’re off to sunny, sweaty Florida to talk about “Mostly Dead Things,” the debut novel by Kristen Arnett. We discuss taxidermy, the characters, grossness, and the ideas of masculinity and vulnerability. Then, Emily interviews Erica Boyce, author of the new book “Lost at Sea.” Then we dig into some listener feedback from a few of our earlier book picks. In light of recent events, we’ve changed our next Othersode topic—read along with us for our June 29 discussion of Ibram X. Kendi’s book “Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America” (available for free on Spotify right now!). Our next Bookpisode will cover “The Water Dancer” by Ta-Nehisi Coates, and we’ll be joined by returning guest Said on July 13!

0:30 – Announcements
5:30 – Intro q
14:20 – Book intro
16:36 – Taxidermy as the center of the novel
23:50 – Characters and character development
41:40 – Gross stuff!
52:50 – Masculinity and vulnerability
59:55 – Ratings
1:09:25 – Interview with Erica Boyce!
1:39:02 – Listener feedback
1:45:07 – What’s up next?

Links:
The End of Policing: https://www.versobooks.com/books/2426-the-end-of-policing
Kandis’s film, Edible: https://www.gofundme.com/f/edible-short-film
Snap4Freedom: https://www.snap4freedom.org/home
The Okra Project: https://www.theokraproject.com
ACLU: https://www.aclu.org/
Audre Lorde Project: https://alp.org/

#BLACKLIVESMATTER
More Resources to Fight Racial Injustice:

Black Lives Matter https://secure.actblue.com/donate/ms_blm_homepage_2019
NAACP Legal Defense Fund: https://org2.salsalabs.com/o/6857/p/salsa/donation/common/public/?donate_page_KEY=15780&_ga=2.209233111.496632409.1590767838-1184367471.1590767838
Communities United Against Police Brutality https://www.cuapb.org/
Reclaim the Block https://www.reclaimtheblock.org/home/#about
Change.org petition for Justice for Breonna Taylor https://www.change.org/p/andy-beshear-justice-for-breonna-taylor
Change.org petition for Justice for George Floyd https://www.change.org/p/mayor-of-minneapolis-justice-for-george-floyd
Change.org petition for Justice for Ahmaud Arbery https://www.change.org/p/liberty-county-distric-attorney-justice-for-ahmaud-arbery
A Detailed List of Anti-Racism Resources: https://medium.com/wake-up-call/a-detailed-list-of-anti-racism-resources-a34b259a3eea
75 Things White People Can Do for Racial Justice: https://medium.com/equality-includes-you/what-white-people-can-do-for-racial-justice-f2d18b0e0234
Play
Like
Play Next
Mark
Played
Share