39 minutes | Jul 25, 2021

[INTERVIEW] Smart Behavioral Economics Secrets Every Marketer Needs with Melina Palmer

What does your customer want but can’t tell you? What effective marketing techniques use behavioral economics? If only you had a way of understanding how your customer’s brain made decisions. Well our guest, Melina Palmer sits down to discuss exactly that. 

Melina Palmer is the founder of The Brainy Business, which provides behavioral economics consulting to businesses of all sizes from around the world. She also hosts a podcast, The Brainy Business, and has recently published her first book What Your Customer Wants and Can’t Tell You: Unlocking Consumer Decisions with the Science of Behavioral Economics: https://amzn.to/36Rm88I

What You Will Learn From Melina Palmer 

(6:23) Melina explains her book “What Your Customer Wants and Can’t Tell You”

(13:30) Why should we care about dopamine? 

(16:26) The effectiveness of using a lottery draw

(20:43) Why is priming so important in marketing? 

(27:41) How Melina helps you to apply her insight 

(30:59) What sparked Melina’s interest in Behavioral Economics?

(32:24) What is the biggest secret that customers can’t tell you?

(33:54) Is the marketing industry still sexist? 

(34:40) The music Melina would take to survive on a desert island 

If you are a regular listener to Behavioral Grooves, please consider donating to our work through Patreon https://www.patreon.com/behavioralgrooves. We also love reading your reviews on the podcast, which gives other listeners social proof that we’re worth listening to!

© 2021 Behavioral Grooves

Links

Melina Palmer, What Your Customer Wants and Can’t Tell You: Unlocking Consumer Decisions with the Science of Behavioral Economics: https://amzn.to/36Rm88I 

Episode 109: Melina Palmer: Using Behavioral Economics to Help Businesses: https://behavioralgrooves.com/episode/melina-palmer-using-behavioral-economics-to-help-businesses/

The Brainy Business: https://thebrainybusiness.com/ 

The Brainy Business Podcast: https://thebrainybusiness.com/podcast/ 

Melina Palmer, INC: https://www.inc.com/author/melina-palmer 

Melina Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/thebrainybiz/

Melina Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/thebrainybiz/

Melina YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/thebrainybusiness

Melina Twitter: https://twitter.com/thebrainybiz

Melina LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/melina-palmer-36ab8712/

The Brainy Buiness LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/company/the-brainy-business/

BE Thoughtful Revolution: https://be-thoughtful-revolution.mn.co/share/Wwg4nTN8qVp21XB3?utm_source=manual

Episode 232: Katy Milkman: How to Make Healthy Habits that Actually Last: https://behavioralgrooves.com/episode/katy-milkman-habits-that-last/

Episode 226: The Power Of Unity: Robert Cialdini Expands His Best Selling Book Influence: https://behavioralgrooves.com/episode/cialdini-unity-in-influence/

McDonald’s Monopoly: A Masterclass in Promotions: https://www.talon.one/blog/mcdonalds-monopoly-a-masterclass-in-promotions 

Human Behavior Lab, Certificate Program: https://hbl.tamu.edu/certificate-program/ 

Musical Links

 Paul McCartney “Find My Way”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2oSmP3GtOBk 

Lady Gaga “Stupid Love”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5L6xyaeiV58 

John Mayer “Last Train Home”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=66Ne5dVDfLM 

Melina’s Pandora station: https://pandora.app.link/UrWQ28B6l3 

Play
Like
Play Next
Mark
Played
Share