Stitcher for Podcasts

Get the App Open App
Bummer! You're not a
Stitcher Premium subscriber yet.
Learn More
Start Free Trial
$4.99/Month after free trial

Show Info

Episode Info

Episode Info: For show notes click the link above Mentor with Melissa: Join our Membership Site: Yoga Props: Blanket, Wall, Chair, Strap According to Ayurveda our life is divided into four stages. From about birth to twenty five years we are in a kapha stage of life. At this stage of life children and young adults display many kapha qualities. They need a lot of sleep, they have an ability to learn easily and retain a lot of information, they enjoy life and are loyal companions, and they generally enjoy life. This time of life is also typically dominated by standard kapha diseases of excess mucous such as the common cold, bronchitis, pneumonia, sore throats and earaches. The second stage of life is from twenty-five to fifty years of age and this is the time that we build our careers and raise our families. Our responsibilities at this age is to create financial stability for our families, in sanskrit that is called artha. At this stage of life, pitta dominates and so the qualities of independence ambition, confidence and sociability are the norm at this stage of life. Common illnesses at this stage of life come from excess fire such as heartburn, ulcers, stomach acid, hemorrhoids and hypertension. From fifty to seventy-five years of age, we come into our third stage of life when we make the transition from pitta to vata. At this time we move out of the cities to smaller communities for retirement so that we are still available to our families for help and advice as needed. At this stage we honour our truth and our need for wealth subsides. ‘ The final stage of life is from seventy five to 100 years. This stage of life is strongly dominated by the vata constitution. In this stage of life it is not uncommon for our bodies to be dehydrated, have dry skin, brittle bones, poor digestion and all kinds of aches and pains, not to mention vata characteristics such as forgetfulness and fear. At this stage of life it is natural to be preparing for death and the next life, actually being liberated from the cycle of birth and death altogether, known as moksha in sanskrit. In our culture, aging is feared,

Discover more stories like this.

Like Stitcher On Facebook


Episode Options

Listen Whenever

Similar Episodes

Related Episodes