Stitcher for Podcasts

Get the App Open App
Bummer! You're not a
Stitcher Premium subscriber yet.
Learn More
Start Free Trial
$4.99/Month after free trial
HELP

Episode Info

Episode Info:

How can we deal with data better? How can we teach kids to deal with data better? Sarah Morris from the nonprofit Nuclear Learning Network has some answers. She educates students and the general population on better data visualization, or dataviz, and how to use modern tools for dataviz. Related to this episode: • The Nucleus Learning Network: http://www.nucleuslearningnetwork.org/ • Art Science Gallery in Austin, TX: http://www.artsciencegallery.com/ • DataViz example at The Nucleus Learning Network: http://www.nucleuslearningnetwork.org/datavis/ • Social Explorer (mapping tool): http://www.socialexplorer.com/ • RAW (chart-building tool): http://rawgraphs.io/ • The Law & Order Database: https://www.overthinkingit.com/2012/11/13/the-law-and-order-database-all-20-seasons/ • Tips on using the Excel chart recommender: http://www.k2e.com/tech-update/tips/689-tips-using-recommended-charts-in-excel • Periodic Table of Visualization: http://www.visual-literacy.org/periodic_table/periodic_table.html • Chart Juice: http://labs.juiceanalytics.com/chartchooser/index.html • The Guardian data visualization: https://www.theguardian.com/technology/data-visualisation Our closing music is from "Late for School" by Bleeptor, used under a Creative Commons Attribution License: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0. Subscribe and find more podcast information at: http://www.k12engineering.net. The K12 Engineering Education Podcast is a production of Pios Labs: http://www.pioslabs.com. Check out the book and ebook “Engineer’s Guide to Improv and Art Games” by Pius Wong, on Amazon, Apple iBooks, and other retailers: http://www.pioslabs.com/improv4design.html

Read more »

Discover more stories like this.

Like Stitcher On Facebook

EMBED

Episode Options

Listen Whenever

Similar Episodes

Related Episodes