Stitcher for Podcasts

Get the App Open App
Bummer! You're not a
Stitcher Premium subscriber yet.
Learn More
Start Free Trial
$4.99/Month after free trial
HELP

Show Info

Episode Info

Episode Info: Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error [ https://amzn.to/2AnAgr0 ] by Kathryn Schulz. Dr. Frank Buck, the author of Get Organized! Time Management for School Leaders [ https://amzn.to/2V2H8RL ], and regular speaker on time management, joins me as usual to discuss this summary-review episode on Productivity Book Group. About the Author (her website) Kathryn Schulz is a staff writer at The New Yorker. She won the 2015 Pulitzer Prize in Feature Writing and a National Magazine Award for her article on seismic risk in the Pacific Northwest, “The Really Big One,” which was anthologized in The Best American Science and Nature Writing and The Best American Magazine Writing. Prior to joining The New Yorker, she was the book critic for New York Magazine; her writing has also appeared in The New York Times Magazine, Rolling Stone, TIME, Foreign Policy, and the New York Times Book Review, among other publications. She is the former editor of the environmental magazine Grist, and a former reporter and editor for The Santiago Times, of Santiago, Chile. She was a 2004 recipient of the Pew Fellowship in International Journalism (now the International Reporting Project), and has reported from Central and South America, Japan, and the Middle East. A graduate of Brown University and a former Ohioan, Oregonian, and Brooklynite, she currently divides her time between the Eastern Shore of Maryland and New York’s Hudson Valley. About the Book (from Amazon) In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational comes Being Wrong, an illuminating exploration of what it means to be in error, and why homo sapiens tend to tacitly assume (or loudly insist) that they are right about most everything. Kathryn Schulz, editor of Grist magazine, argues that error is the fundamental human condition and should be celebrated as such. Guiding the reader through the history and psychology of error, from Socrates to Alan Greenspan, Being Wrong will change the way you perceive screw-ups, both of the mammoth and daily variety, forever. Our next reading selections Show Notes/Quotations (Please listen to understand the context of the resources provided. If we missed something, please comment on the episode and let us know!) The Invisible Gorilla by Christopher Chablis and Daniel Simons Learning How to Learn The Checklist Manifesto by Atul Gawande, MD Expert accused of ‘millennial bashing’ says the generation is under TOO much pressure to succeed – and reveals why they think they deserve a promotion after a year in their first job Please visit ProductivityBookGroup.org and find out the details and the schedule for upcoming book discussion calls; check out the schedule on the “Upcoming Books” page. Please feel free to visit Apple Podcasts / iTunes, Stitcher, Google Podcasts, or whichever podcast directory or app you prefer to access Productivity Book Group…and subscribe. Also, please feel free to review us on Apple Podcasts, or Stitcher! This helps e...
Read more »

Discover more stories like this.

Like Stitcher On Facebook

EMBED

Episode Options

Listen Whenever

Similar Episodes

Related Episodes