Stitcher for Podcasts

Get the App Open App
Bummer! You're not a
Stitcher Premium subscriber yet.
Learn More
Start Free Trial
$4.99/Month after free trial
HELP

Episode Info

Episode Info: In this episode I talk to my friend Musiki Glover about race, racism, using the word lynching, and her experience growing up as a black woman. Just a heads up since I know there are listeners who listen with their kids, there are a couple expletives dropped in the conversation. Not a lot, but kids notice everything! Important Links SURJ is a national network of groups and individuals working to undermine white supremacy and to work toward racial justice. Through community organizing, mobilizing, and education, SURJ moves white people to act as part of a multi-racial majority for justice with passion and accountability. - https://www.showingupforracialjustice.org/ Campaign Zero: We can live in a world where the police don't kill people by limiting police interventions, improving community interactions, and ensuring accountability. - https://www.joincampaignzero.org Show Notes A Framework for Understanding Poverty by Ruby Payne - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/4519.A_Framework_for_Understanding_Poverty Questioning Payne by Teaching Tolerance - https://www.tolerance.org/magazine/spring-2016/questioning-payne Episode 8 Growing Up Zapotec with Luis Matias Cruz - https://wdtatpodcast.com/podcast/8-growing-up-zapotec-with-luis-matias-cruz/ Tamir Rice - https://www.pbs.org/newshour/tag/tamir-rice Trayvon Martin - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shooting_of_Trayvon_Martin Joaquin Phoenix BAFTA Award Speech - https://youtu.be/hAh0FSfc4Ls A People’s History of the United States by Howard Zinn - https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2767.A_People_s_History_of_the_United_States Seeing White Podcast - https://www.sceneonradio.org/seeing-white/ Black Lives Matter - https://blacklivesmatter.com/ Octavia Butler - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Octavia_E._Butler N.K. Jemisin - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/N._K._Jemisin The New Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander - https://newjimcrow.com/ Code Switch - https://www.npr.org/podcasts/510312/codeswitch Two Dope Queens - https://www.wnycstudios.org/podcasts/dopequeens 74 Seconds - https://www.mprnews.org/story/2018/04/24/74-seconds-podcast-peabody-mpr-news Politically Reactive - https://www.earwolf.com/show/politically-reactive/ The 13th Documentary - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/13th_(film) Ava Duvernay - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ava_DuVernay Harriet - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harriet_(film) Support the Podcast - https://www.patreon.com/wdtatpodcast Leave us a voicemail! https://www.speakpipe.com/wdtatpodcast Email your feedback to wdtatpodcast@gmail.com Follow us: Facebook -https://www.facebook.com/wdtatpodcast Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/wdtatpodcast/ Twitter - https://twitter.com/wdtatpodcastSpecial Guest: Musiki Glover.Support We Don't Talk About That with Lucas Land ...
Read more »

Discover more stories like this.

Like Stitcher On Facebook

EMBED

Episode Options

Listen Whenever

Similar Episodes

Related Episodes