Stitcher for Podcasts

Get the App Open App
Bummer! You're not a
Stitcher Premium subscriber yet.
Learn More
Start Free Trial
$4.99/Month after free trial
HELP

Show Info

Episode Info

Episode Info: Episode Summary: For many business owners, Payroll & Benefits management are a common core part of starting a business. Employees & Taxes need to be paid, laws need to be followed; those are the basics. There are any number of vendors offering those services who will come knocking at your door the moment you register a new business. That's just not the case in the Cannabis Industry. A chance encounter on a Southwest Flight led today's guest to ring up a friend running a successful dispensary, only to find they'd been dropped by 6 payroll companies to service their 100 employees. Layer on complex legal structures, regulations, and tax codes. These are the seeds of what is an especially big problem for the Cannabis industry this is. It takes a special kinda person to want to start a company to solve those problems. Please enjoy the Founder's Journey of Wurk Founder & CEO, Keegan Peterson. Corporate Summary: Wurk exists to help underserved businesses fortify, comply, and thrive in the face of uncertain regulatory environments. Designed specifically for the cannabis industry, our platform and managed services, allows employers to protect and streamline their operations, while providing an environment where people are a priority every step of the way. The intuitive solution automates the most complicated and risk-prone processes associated with Human Resources. For more information visit enjoywurk.com.  Wurk currently provides services to over 400 licensees in 33 legal cannabis states. Since the inception of the company, Wurk has paid over 60,000 employees. Show Notes: Kevin Frender: https://www.linkedin.com/in/mtinlin1/ Matt Tinlan: https://www.linkedin.com/in/mtinlin1/ Deirdre Gordon: https://www.linkedin.com/in/deirdraogorman/ Burning Man: https://burningman.org/ Canopy Boulder: https://twitter.com/CanopyBoulder Patrick Grey: https://www.linkedin.com/in/reapatrick/ Mika Tapman: https://www.linkedin.com/in/mtapman/ Arcview: https://arcviewgroup.com/ Weed the People: https://www.netflix.com/title/81016247 Riki Lake: https://twitter.com/RickiLake  Mara Gordon: https://www.linkedin.com/in/maragordon/ Founders: Elon Muck: https://twitter.com/elonmus Jack Dorsey: https://twitter.com/jack Aron Ain: https://www.linkedin.com/in/aronain/ Howard Schnellenberger (Football coach): http://www.howardschnellenberger.com/ Keegan Peterson, CEO & Founder, Wurk https://www.linkedin.com/in/keeganpeterson/ https://www.enjoywurk.com/ https://www.facebook.com/enjoywurk https://www.instagram.com/enjoywurk/ Brian Weber, Host, Lit Up: A Founder's Journey linkedin.com/in/briancweber/ www.litupfounders.com www.facebook.com/LitUpFounders/ www.instagram.com/LitUpFounders/ www.twitter.com/LitUpFounders www.linkedin.com/company/litupmedia/ Listen to the episode here or on SoundCloud, Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Spotify, Stitcher, TuneIn, iHeartRadio or RSS to your favorite podcast app....
Read more »

Discover more stories like this.

Like Stitcher On Facebook

EMBED

Episode Options

Listen Whenever

Similar Episodes

Related Episodes