Stitcher for Podcasts

Get the App Open App
Bummer! You're not a
Stitcher Premium subscriber yet.
Learn More
Start Free Trial
$4.99/Month after free trial

Show Info

Episode Info

Episode Info:

Episode #92 The dhatus are the tissues of the body. Dhatu translates to ‘that which holds together’ because the dhatus/tissues support the body and give it shape, holding it together. The dhatus are made from and nourished by the food we eat. There are 7 dhatus or tissues in the body according to Ayurveda and in this episode, Colette explains the fascinating tissue nutrition system and how the nutrition is a step-by-step process of nourishment from the gross to the subtlest dhatu which is our reproductive tissue.

The seven tissues or dhatus in the body are:

  1. Rasa - plasma/serum/lymph
  2. Rakta - blood, the red blood cells
  3. Mamsa - muscle tissue
  4. Meda - adipose tissue or fat tissue
  5. Asthi - bones & cartilage
  6. Majja - bone marrow, connective tissue, nerve tissue
  7. Sukra/Artava - male (sukra) and female (artava) reproductive tissue

Contact Colette via email

Visit the Elements Healing and Wellbeing website to find out more about Colette's online services:

  • Ayurvedic Reset Cleanse
  • Online Ayurvedic Consultations
  • Daily Habits for Holistic Health Online Course

Click here for info on the French Riviera Ayurveda & Yoga Retreat October 11-13th, 2019.

Join the Elements of Ayurveda Podcast Facebook Group here.

Thanks for listening!

Read more »

Discover more stories like this.

Like Stitcher On Facebook


Episode Options

Listen Whenever

Similar Episodes

Related Episodes