Stitcher for Podcasts

Get the App Open App
Bummer! You're not a
Stitcher Premium subscriber yet.
Learn More
Start Free Trial
$4.99/Month after free trial
HELP

Show Info

Episode Info

Episode Info: In BreakDrink episode no. 33 of @BreakDrink we bring our conversation back to the Lone Star State to talk about the foodie life at the Texas State Fair. Although this episode is light and delightfully tasty talk about deep-fried food, TX history, and more -- we wanted to take a minute to pass on a few resources to take action in light of recent US events. After last weekend’s mass shootings, we would be limited not make mention that our hearts go out to the community in El Paso, TX and Dayton, OH. We no longer need thoughts and prayers -- we need action. If you care to talk to people who can impact policy change and laws please go to: EmergencySenateSession.org – We Demand An Emergency Senate Session On Gun Reform 2019 Gun Sense Candidate Look Up https://gunsensevoter.org/ Moms Demand Action - Act NOW! https://momsdemandaction.org/act/ -Tell the Senate: Update Background Checks Now -U.S. Sentate: Strong Red Flag Law Now! -Demand Smarter Gun Laws Now If you need to talk so someone yourself, please reach out to the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline by calling 1-800-273-8255 Here’s a few things we shared about the state fair. If y’all are in Dallas, let’s go to the fair! State Texas Fair https://bigtex.com/ Meet Big Tex https://bigtex.com/about-us/big-tex/ History of the Texas State Fair https://bigtex.com/about-us/history/ There’s a State Fair Calendar for other States https://www.everfest.com/lists/civic-state-fairs The Canadian National Exhibition a.k.a. “The Ex” https://theex.com/ The History of the Margarita https://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/the-history-of-the-margarita-57990212/ The Mystery Behind Who Really Created the Margarita https://vinepair.com/wine-blog/the-mystery-behind-who-really-created-the-margarita/ Why can Texas fly its flag at the same height as the U.S. flag? https://www.dallasnews.com/life/curious-texas/2018/01/10/curious-texas-can-texas-fly-flag-height-us-flag Top 10 Largest Cities in the US #4 Houston, #7 San Antonio & #9 Dallas https://www.moving.com/tips/the-top-10-largest-us-cities-by-population/ The Texas State Fair Foodie 33 FINALISTS: Big Choice Awards https://bigtex.com/plan-your-visit/food/big-tex-choice-awards/ Announcing the 2019 Big Tex Choice Awards Semi-Finalists https://bigtex.com/state-fair-of-texas-announces-the-2019-big-tex-choice-awards-semi-finalists/ A Ranked List of These Items https://www.centraltrack.com/2019-state-fair-of-texas-food-award-semi-finalists-ranked/ Big Winners at 2018 State Fair Food Competition https://cravedfw.com/2018/08/27/big-winners-at-2018-state-fair-food-competition/ How do you pronounce “pecan”? https://www.southernliving.com/culture/pecan-pronunciation Recipes: Deep Fried Cadbury Eggs https://www.ohbiteit.com/2015/02/deep-fried-cadbury-eggs.html Burnt Ends (Kansas-City Style) https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/kansas-city-style-burnt-ends-recipe-1920773 #ToRead: Big, Hot, Cheap, and Right: What America Can Learn from th...
Read more »

Discover more stories like this.

Like Stitcher On Facebook

EMBED

Show Info

Episode Options

Listen Whenever

Similar Episodes

Related Episodes