Stitcher for Podcasts

Get the App Open App
Bummer! You're not a
Stitcher Premium subscriber yet.
Learn More
Start Free Trial
$4.99/Month after free trial

Show Info

Episode Info

Episode Info:

In the fourth book of the Addy series, our young hero learns that sometimes you do get to have your ice cream and eat it, too. The spring of 1865 finds the Walker family in new circumstances. Poppa has come north, the family has moved out of the garret, and an incomparable sage has come into Addy's life, the darling M'Dear. As Addy struggles with problems as small as learning to jump rope and as big as systemic racism, her story continues to illuminate not just the interior life of a girl, but also a nation in transition. At the end of the book, Addy chooses the end of the Civil War to be her birthday, making her an Aries by destiny if not birth. This episode takes you though the most important April of Addy's life and along the way, sprinkles in the poetry of Maya Angelou, the history of ice cream, a detour into pandemic containment, and commentary on the disastrous decisions of Peter Weber. Wash your hands, find a double dutch partner, and treat yourself to our take on Happy Birthday, Addy.

Note: for next episode, we'll be taking your questions, comments, and stories for a special mailbag edition of American Girls. So, ask us anything!

Want to hear more American Girls? Subscribe to our Patreon to get an extra episode each month for $3/month. 

We are thinking of our #OGAG community during this pandemic. Thanks to all of you contributed to the Pop Culture RX: List of COVID-19 Distractions.  Stay safe everyone! 

--- This episode is sponsored by · Anchor: The easiest way to make a podcast. · Couple Things with Shawn and Andrew: Former Olympic Gymnast Shawn Johnson and NFL player Andrew East sit down to share their most vulnerable sides and open up like they never have before.

Read more »

Discover more stories like this.

Like Stitcher On Facebook


Show Info

Episode Options

Listen Whenever

Similar Episodes

Related Episodes